LABOR DAY WEEKEND AND THE 5D MARK II


IMG_8726

I’m spending this weekend with Jake, kitty and the 5D Mark II.  So far it’s been totally amazing, and I can totally see what all the fuss is about.  Trust me when I say, if you enjoy taking pictures, you’re in for a great ride.  Video, which is the primary reason I wanted to play with the 5D takes some finesse to get right.  Initially, I shot video in full auto mode.  Expect some grain when doing this.  In manual,  got much better results.  Check out some of the better images below, and video will follow in the coming days.

One big gripe here though, and pardon my negativity.  My gripe is with the City of Houston, specifically Metro Transit Authority.  All this consistent hype about how shooting in Houston is permit free, blah, blah, blah!  Don’t believe it.  We were on the dock waiting for the light rail just around Texas street.  An angry homeless guy came up to us and starts harassing us for change.  I look to my right and there was a Metro Police Car, and I waved at him hoping he would keep this guy moving who was now becoming belligerent.  I’m usually not so nervous in these situations, however, I did have $2500.00 worth of camera strapped around my neck.

The cop yelled out something, but we couldn’t hear over the homeless guy screaming that all he wanted was to talk, and he didn’t want any money, yea right.  Finally the homeless guy splits, and we could understand what the cop was saying:  “NO VIDEO OF THE TRAIN!”  I’m like…what the hell..?

It seems harassing pedestrians is fine, but if you intend to take a picture of the Metro Light Rail, well you’ll be dealing with the long arm of law.  I’m not sure if it’s because they thought I was some sort of photo terrorist or if they don’t want any potentially damaging images of a fatality, (they don’t call it the DEATH RAIL for nothin).  Whatever the reason, they just don’t allow no picture takin of the Metro Light Rail in Houston…  H-Town — and the H is for Hater!   So no video of the train in the permit free city of Houston.   Whatever, I got some video of the train, and now I’m on a mission to get more…POWER TO THE PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

